FF Lugano 1976 LNA First Team

Women’s football is growing around the world but found its foothold and early champion in Switzerland. Within the region Ticino, FF Lugano 1976 has been the cradle of women’s soccer.  The club is not only a pioneer, but a consistent ambassador for the women’s game. The mission of the club, with its return to the top division of the Swiss league LNA, is to improve the quality of the game through the development of its players so that they can reach their potential.  By setting a high standard and paving the way for future women’s clubs, FF Lugano aims to be the most important point of reference for women’s football in the region of Ticino, Switzerland, which is famous for two large land-based casinos. For those, who prefer real-life experience rather than playing at Swiss online casinos, the city remains one the most desired tourist locations.

Founded in 1976 by Andrea Incerti, the club initially started as AS Armonia Lugano before being rebranded as FCF Rapid Lugano in 1983 after joining forces with Rapid Lugano. They celebrated their inaugural league championship in the 1988-89 season.

Between 1978 and 2009, the club was known for hosting a prestigious Easter tournament that attracted both local and international squads. Lugano emerged victorious in this tournament nine times, notably securing the title consecutively from 2005 to 2007. Following the 2006-07 season, FC Rapid Lugano faced relegation to Nationalliga B due to finishing at the bottom of the league. However, upon their ascent back to Nationalliga A in the 2015-16 season, the club underwent another name change, this time to Football Femminile Lugano 1976.


As of 25 September 2020 the squad consisted of:

No. Pos. Nation Player
12 GK ITA Miriam Ubaldi
28 GK USA Morgan Bertsch
6 DF SUI Sara Tonelli
14 DF SUI Nathalie Polledri
20 DF SUI Mia Von Ballmoos
24 DF USA Kelly Chicerking
7 MF USA Lauren Curtin
8 MF SUI Stella Suter
16 MF SUI Mathilda Andreoli
No. Pos. Nation Player
17 MF KOS Anila Bytyqi
22 MF SUI Sofia Pedrazzini
23 MF USA Kat McDonald
9 FW USA Tori Baliatico
10 FW COL Lina Granados
17 FW USA Christina Bellero
18 FW USA Samantha DePinho
21 FW USA Kaela Dickerman
25 FW USA Ashley Herndon

Any information about the squad as for march 2024 is not available at the moment.